Images Magazine

Formula for Success

Bascom Palmer continues at the helm of the Florida Society of Ophthalmology (FSO). Glaucoma specialist and cataract surgeon SARAH WELLIK, M.D., is president-elect, to begin her term as president in June 2020. Bascom Palmer has enjoyed a long history of leadership within the FSO, beginning in 1948, when the Institute’s namesake, BASCOM H. PALMER, M.D., served as president of the organization. STEPHEN G. SCHWARTZ, M.D., M.B.A., was president in 2010, as was KRISHNA S. KISHOR, M.D., who served in 2017 and KARA M. CAVUOTO, M.D., in 2018.

At the FSO’s annual meeting, Kishor received the President’s Recognition Award. CAROL L. KARP, M.D., received the Shaler Richardson M.D. Service to Medicine Award, presented to a physician recognized for the greatest personal contribution to quality ophthalmic patient care.