Images Magazine

Ophthalmology Interest Club Wins Toppel Award

Congratulations to the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine’s Ophthalmology Interest Club for receiving the Toppel Award for Student Group of the Year. This university-wide award is given annually to a student organization for creating career and mentorship opportunities, providing service to the community, and helping students become leaders within their respective fields. Under the leadership of Bascom Palmer’s faculty mentors, RICHARD K. LEE, M.D., PH. D. and CHRISFOUAD ALABIAD, M.D., the ophthalmology interest group participates in community health fairs, eye screenings, free eyeglass clinics, and international missions. Elaine Han and John Lee, the two medical student co-directors of this student-run organization, received the award at the recognition ceremony.